top of page

 

I feel the possibility to carry out such a tour as a privilege. My physical, temporal and financial conditions are given - and my family is also with me. In addition, I have the good fortune to live in a country with a stable political system, social security, a functioning health system and the possibility to express myself freely and to travel. Looking back on the past two years clearly shows that this is neither a matter of course nor a given everywhere in the world.

Various organizations have set themselves the goal of helping people who enjoy (much) fewer or none of my "privileges" and who find themselves in humanitarian emergencies. I think this is important and good. Therefore I would like to support one of these organizations.

MSB137376(High)-official-free.jpg
20220622_210535293_iOS.jpg

In 2022 I met Andy Dennis and Tracey Hill from England on a cycling trip to Barcelona. Both were cycling on their mission "Ride the Rock" from Amsterdam to Gibraltar. A charity project over 2,000 miles by bike. Both support Doctors Without Borders (MSF) with their project. Andy has also done missions in projects for MSF in Africa in the past years to care for Ebola patients and to care for injured people in civil war areas. These two people impressed me deeply with their warmth and commitment and told me a lot about their missions and MSF. That's what made me decide to support MSF with my bike trip. More about Tracey and Andi can be found here:

https://andy4msf.com/challenges/ride-to-the-rock-2022/

msf-foto.jpg

As a humanitarian medical organization, Doctors Without Borders is committed to providing high-quality and efficient healthcare in countries where people's survival is at risk due to diseases, wars and disasters - such as that earthquake in Syria and Turkey. Doctors Without Borders focuses on providing medical aid to people in need, neutrally and regardless of political, social or religious beliefs.

The basic principles of Doctors Without Borders:

We are impartial.

Medical ethics determine our actions. Our aid is based solely on the degree of need of the people. We support our patients without regard to ethnic origin, gender, political or religious beliefs.

We are independent.

When people urgently need our help, we decide to help - uninfluenced by political, military or other interests. We owe our independence to our private donors, who finance most of our work.

We are neutral.

We do not take a position in conflicts and provide help to all sides if it is necessary and the situation allows it. We communicate our neutral position in the project country, thus creating acceptance and trust.

More information about Doctors Without Borders can be found here: doctors without borders

The website linked via the button goes directly to the organization.

The donations made go directly and completely there.

 

If this has piqued your interest and you would like to support Doctors Without Borders with a donation, I would be very happy about it.

 

The donation target is 1€ per kilometer of my planned route.

Both the donation goal and the distance are very ambitious for me - but that's what makes it so!

 

Many thanks to the donators - Stefan Thelen

bottom of page

top of page

Ich empfinde ich die Möglichkeit eine solche Tour durchführen zu können, als Privileg. Meine körperlichen, zeitlichen und finanziellen Voraussetzungen sind gegeben – und meine Familie macht es auch mit. Dazu habe ich das Glück in einem Land zu leben mit stabilem politischem System, sozialen Sicherungen, funktionierendem Gesundheitssystem und der Möglichkeit sich frei zu äußern und zu reisen. Das dies weder selbstverständlich noch überall auf der Welt gegeben ist, zeigt der Rückblick auf die zurückliegenden zwei Jahre deutlich.

Verschiedene Organisationen haben sich zum Ziel gesetzt Menschen, die (viel) weniger oder gar keine meiner „Privilegien“ genießen und sich in humanitären Notlagen befinden, zu helfen. Das finde ich wichtig und gut. Daher möchte ich eine dieser Organisationen unterstützen.

MSB137376(High)-official-free.jpg
20220622_210535293_iOS.jpg

2022 habe ich auf einer Radreise nach Barcelona Andy Dennis und Tracey Hill aus England kennengelernt. Beide waren mit dem Fahrrad auf ihrer Mission „Ride the Rock“ von Amsterdam nach Gibraltar unterwegs. Einem Charity-Projekt über 2.000 Meilen mit dem Rad. Beide unterstützen mit ihrem Projekt die Ärzte ohne Grenzen (MSF). Andy hat in den vergangenen Jahren auch Einsätze in Projekten für MSF in Afrika zur Versorgung von Ebola Patienten und die Versorgung von Verletzten in Bürgerkriegsgebieten durchgeführt. Diese beiden Menschen haben mich mit ihrer Herzlichkeit und ihrem Engagement tief beeindruckt und mir einiges über ihre Einsätze und MSF erzählt. Das hat mich bewogen mit meiner Radreise MSF zu unterstützen. Mehr über Tracey und Andi gibt es hier:

https://andy4msf.com/challenges/ride-to-the-rock-2022/

msf-foto.jpg

Als humanitäre medizinische Organisation setzt sich Ärzte ohne Grenzen für eine qualitativ hochwertige und effiziente Gesundheitsversorgung in Ländern ein, in denen das Überleben von Menschen durch Krankheiten, Kriege und Katastrophen - wie jenes Erdbeben in Syrien und der Türkei - in Gefahr ist. Ärzte ohne Grenzen konzentriert sich dabei auf die medizinische Hilfe für Menschen in Notlagen, neutral und unabhängig von politischen, sozialen oder religiösen Überzeugungen.

Die Grund-Prinzipien von Ärzte ohne Grenzen:

 

Wir sind unparteilich.

Die medizinische Ethik bestimmt unser Handeln. Ausschlaggebend für unsere Hilfe ist allein das Maß der Not der Menschen. Wir unterstützen unsere Patient*innen ohne Ansehen von ethnischer Herkunft, Geschlecht, politischen oder religiösen Überzeugungen.

 

Wir sind unabhängig.

Wenn Menschen dringend unsere Hilfe benötigen, entscheiden wir zu helfen – unbeeinflusst von politischen, militärischen oder sonstigen Interessen. Die Unabhängigkeit verdanken wir unseren privaten Spender*innen, die unsere Arbeit größtenteils finanzieren.

 

Wir sind neutral.

Wir beziehen in Konflikten keine Stellung und leisten auf allen Seiten Hilfe, wenn diese notwendig ist und es die Lage zulässt. Wir kommunizieren unsere neutrale Haltung im Projektland, und schaffen so Akzeptanz und Vertrauen.

 

Mehr Infos zu Ärzte Ohne Grenzen findet ihr hier: Ärzte ohne Grenzen

Die über den Butten verlinkte Internetseite geht direkt zur Organisation.

Die abgegebenen Spenden landen direkt und vollständig dort.

Falls das euer Interesse geweckt hat und ihr die Ärzte ohne Grenzen mit einer Spende unterstützen wollt, dann würde ich mich sehr darüber freuen.

 

Das Spendenziel entspricht 1€ pro Kilometer meiner geplanten Strecke.

 

 

Sowohl das Spendenziel als auch die Strecke sind für mich sehr ambitioniert - aber das macht es eben auch aus!

Herzlichen Dank an die Spender - Stefan Thelen

bottom of page